Diamonds 4 Life

Buying Diamonds

Not all diamonds are created equal, so buying a diamond can be a little confusing if you don't know what to look for. To help make your purchase as easy and stress free as possible, Diamonds 4 Life has listed information to give you a better understanding of the diamond choices available. You'll find information about diamond cutting and polishing, the characteristics of a diamond and what styles are available.

Diamond Cutting

Diamond cutting is the art of changing a diamond from a rough stone into a faceted stone. It is an extremely complex process requires considerable skill as well as specialised knowledge, tools, equipment, and techniques. After a diamond has been cut into shape, it is sent for polishing, where the facets are cut onto the diamond and then the final polishing is performed.

The Four C's

The Four C's provide a way to objectively compare and evaluate diamonds, but numbers alone can't describe a diamond's mysterious and captivating beauty.


One of the most important characteristics to consider when buying your new diamond is ‘cut’. ‘Diamond cut’ refers to the angles and proportions created when transforming a rough diamond into a polished diamond. The first aspect of cutting is the actual physical shape of the diamond. The brilliance of a diamond depends heavily on its cut. The chart below shows most of the diamond cuts available.


The second aspect of cutting relates to the actual quality of cut achieved by the jeweller. How well the diamond is will determine its proportion, and the effect light plays on the diamonds various angles and each of its surfaces, also known as facets. The diamonds quality and price will vary greatly depending on the superiority and quality of the cut. By referring to the chart here you can see how - depending on the quality of the cut - the light refractions can be altered, affecting the shine of your diamond.



All diamonds fall within a colour range from ‘D’ (colourless) to ‘Z’ (light yellow). The higher or closer a diamond is to having no colour (D), the more valuable it becomes. This is due to the fact that there is an increased amount of light refractions within the colourless diamond that create a truly dazzling and sparkling stone. Diamonds can also be found in many different colours, known as ‘fancy’ colours. These colours include yellow, brown, pink and blue. Coloured diamonds are particularly rare and valuable. The chart below shows the diamond colours available.



Each diamond has its own 'natural fingerprint' or 'birthmark', this is commonly referred to as its clarity. The majority of diamonds contain 'inclusions'. The size or amount of these inclusions will determine the clarity grading the diamond is given. Inclusions are the natural characteristics of the diamond and may include fractures or minerals. Most inclusions are invisible to the naked eye. The fewer inclusions in a diamond, the greater its clarity and value. The chart below shows the clarity grading a diamond can achieve.



The carat of a diamond is actually a measure of its weight or the number of facets, not its size. The chart below shows the amount of facets for each carat size available.



(Source: Hardy Brothers)